SECTION VI PRE-SEASON REPORT Bowling 2011-12

Chairperson: Dan Kaplan (Boys) and John Seeley (Girls)
May 2011

Committee members (voting*)

BOYS GIRLS

Buffalo: Barb Wachowiak Barb Wachowiak*

Greg Keppel* Greg Keppel
CCAA: Donna Kubera-Dunkirk Donna Kubera

Todd Langworthy*- Forestville Todd Langworthy Gene Jankowski-Salamanca Gene Jankowski*

ECIC:

1&4 Bob Clendening* Jerry Frizzell–Tonawanda

2&3 Bill Morrissey*

NFL: Ed Ventry*-N.Falls Bill Rohring*-N.Tonawanda

Committee meeting date(s): Mid July 2011

Post Season Information

1. The Section VI bowling tournament will be Thursday, February 16, 2012 (boys) and Friday, February 17, 2012 (girls) at Thruway Lanes

- 2. State bowling tournament will be Saturday, March 3, 2021 (school teams) and Sunday, March 4, 2012 (all section teams) at Section IV in Elmira, NY. (Lanes TBA)
- 3. The oil pattern for the Sectional Tournament will be the one used at the State Tournament. This includes using the pattern on the practice dates before the Sectional Tournament. All four bowling leagues that makeup Section VI are encouraged to lay out the pattern at their practices in the days leading up to the Sectional Tournament.

Bowling B- Dan Kaplan (c) 868-5051 G- John Seeley (c) 479-1863				
Sectionals:	Boys	Thurs. Feb.16	Thruway Lanes, Cheektowaga	9am start Coaches 8:30
	Girls	Fri. Feb.17	Thruway Lanes, Cheektowaga	9am start Coaches 8:30
States:		Sat. Mar. 3	Section 4	School Teams 9am start
		Sun. Mar. 4	Section 4	Sectional Teams 9am start

Number of Schools Participating/ Sectional Alignments

Proposed Classes for upcoming year: A Class Breakdown (similar to wrestling) for a more equitable number of schools within each class was approved by the Athletic Council 1/19/11 (effective 2011-2012).

Changes in Policy/Practice for the upcoming season

- 1. Pending the meeting of the bowling committee in July, the format used in the 2011 Sectional Tournament will continue.
- 2. Admission fee for the 2011 Sectional Tournament will remain the same (approved AC 3/24/10)
- 3 Pending AC approval, new certificates will be issued to the divisional team winners and to the individual winners of the all section teams at the Sectional Tournament.

Rule Changes for 2011-12

Pending the meeting of the bowling committee in July, rules will remain the same.

Other Pertinent Data

ΝΔ

Respectfully submitted 4/18/11

Section VI Sportchairs: Dan Kaplan (Boys) John Seeley (Girls)